Weird China

For awhile I’ve been collecting pictures of odd signs and bizarre things that I see around town whenever I go out. Below I’ve included some of the highlights for you to enjoy.

They’re selling a line of Helen Keller eyeglasses? Do they even know who Helen Keller is?!

What better to inspire the students to study hard than some portraits of their nation’s heroes–Stalin, Engels, Marx, Lenin, and Mao?

Somebody call 119! We’ve got a frie!

An advertisement for some apartment buildings that are under construction. I’m not sure exactly what they’re trying to say…

I think I can forgive you.

“Love that outfit! Where did you get it?”

“Uhh….” -_-

I don’t take my laundry to just any old place. I go to an INTERNATIONAL laundry facility, where they treat every dry-clean-only shirt like a work of art!

A blatant rip-off of Monopoly

In this claw machine, children can try to win teddy bears OR cigarettes. What a choice…

An interesting tactic for selling engagement rings. I’m sure this woman will be getting a proposal in no time!

Some very cute Chinglish on a box of mechanical pencils

Care for some curry beef BARF rolls? Sounds delicious!

I can’t even begin to explain why they might have labeled a contact lens case this way…

Uh oh…someone fell asleep at the factory. And unfortunately, the shop owner didn’t realize the mistake, and put several of them on the shelves. I saw this at *multiple* stores around Huzhou, not just one. I wonder how many people bought it?

I have no comment on this other than, why would someone buy it?

I caught these guys sleeping on the job. They were originally curled up back to back, but I couldn’t get my camera out fast enough.

Oops! How did this one get in here?

Is it just me, or does this guy look A LOT like Colonel Sanders?

Forget hanging the laundry, it’s the side of beef we’re eating later that could really use some fresh air!

I saved the best for last. YES, that is really a street dentist. And YES, he is selling a few pairs of “previously owned” dentures. (Who did he get them from??)

Coming across bizarre and unexpected things on almost a daily basis is one of our favorite things about living in China. We’re afraid that America will seem a bit boring for awhile after living in such a weird (but wonderful) place.

4 thoughts on “Weird China

Leave a Reply

